Nearing the end

I have had so much fun writing this book. When I started, I had no idea how much fun it would be. I don’t know if other genres are like this, but putting a mystery novel together is – um – a lot of fun! Plotting, twists and turns, red herrings, character flaws, the big reveal – all as much fun to write as they are to read.

I’m having trouble, though, writing the ending. Not the big climax; I’ve pretty much got that down. But the epilogue, which will be the second half of the last chapter and not a separate piece. It’s all over, my protagonist’s life is back to normal, and all I have to do is make sure that the loose ends are tied up.

And I’m strangely reluctant to tackle that. I’ve taken a couple of different stabs at it, and haven’t been delighted with what I’ve written. I looked at it again today, as I was editing the climax – when I got to the post-climactic part, I decided to take a break.

I’m starting to think that maybe, subconsciously, I don’t want this story to end. Because it’s been so much fun.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

