Binge reading Robert Crais

Everyone once in a while, I’ll discover a new author, and love the first couple of books so much that I have to have them all. My most recent “discovery” is Robert Crais, a mystery writer recommended by my friend Marilyn. He’s a bestseller, and I’d seen his name before, but never read anything by him.

And now I can’t stop.

Most of his books revolve around a private investigator, Elvis Cole, and his partner and best friend, ex-cop Joe Pike. The books are tightly plotted and beautifully written. Elvis is funny, softhearted when he needs to be, and screws up sometimes. Joe is big, silent, and dangerous. Together they’re a great team.

Best of all, the books take place in LA. I’ll be referring back to them again and again, I’m sure, for atmosphere and street names for Jamie Brodie’s adventures.

If you like mysteries, and you haven’t tried Robert Crais yet, do. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

