Changing POV

I’m enrolled in an online course called Start Writing Fiction through The Open University in the UK. It’s been useful, although not as much as I had hoped. Our final writing assignment will be due next week, and it’s a 750-1000 word story. That in itself is difficult for me – I’ve never written a short story, much less a flash fiction piece. I can’t use anything that will go into one of the books because it would only be a scene, not a complete story.

The other requirement is that the story be written in third person. That’s no problem, on the surface. I’ve written a few scenes in third person, both for published books and books to come, and it’s worked okay.

However – the story I’m trying to write for this assignment is in Pete’s voice, and I am somewhat shocked to find that it’s very difficult to write from Pete’s POV. And I’m not sure why. A couple of my critique partners have suggested to me in the past that I write something from Pete’s standpoint, and I’ve balked at that. Maybe I knew subconsciously that I couldn’t do it.

It just strikes me as odd. Maybe I’m so tuned into Jamie’s voice that I can’t turn it around and see Jamie through Pete’s eyes. I don’t know…

What I do know is that I’m not going to struggle with this story any more. I’m going to switch to a story written in a third-person voice I know already. Jamie’s ex, Scott the cellist. Scott has a lot to say. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Writing

2 responses to “Changing POV

  1. Joanie

    Oooh. I’d love to read that short!!

    Aww, Poor Petey!!!

Leave a Reply

